Gifted children testing – why?

28 Jun

Parents sometimes think they should get their child tested without any clear reason for doing it. What are the reasons for testing a child?
1. To provide details about learning needs, including strengths and weaknesses
2. To help identify a child for a gifted program
3. To discover any learning disabilities requiring intervention
4. To help advocate for appropriate educational accommodations

Source : http://giftedkids.about.com/od/testing/p/testing_basics.htm

3 Responses to “Gifted children testing – why?”

  1. thehappyhomechoolinghoosierhousewife June 28, 2013 at 9:32 pm #

    I am homeschooling, but I need to have both kids evaluated at some point. I think they are both gifted in most areas, but both have different problems as well. I believe my son is color blind, but he’s not quite 3 so we’re waiting it out!

  2. Foodie in WV June 28, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

    Both my husband and I got tested when we were in grade school. He did it to get into a gifted program, my school tested everyone. I went to a small arts school and many of the kids did accelerated high-school and started college at 14.

  3. Kim @ Creating My Niche July 3, 2013 at 12:27 am #

    My kids’ school test a few times a year to check progress and to determine if they should be in the accelerated program. I am waiting to see what happens for the upcoming school year. I will have a 4th grader, 2nd grader, and a kindergartener. My eldest has been in the accelerated program since kindergarten. I look for my middle son to move up, as they were having trouble challenging him last year. And, honestly, I have NO idea what to expect with my youngest boy. He knows a lot, but doesn’t seem quite as mature.

What do you think?

Kind & Bold

A blog about humans and their thoughts, success, change, life, love, help, support, motivation, inspiration, guidance, control, morality, ethics & fun.

Read... Write... Talk...

Reading, Writing, Sharing is what its all about!

Thefrugalcrafter's Weblog

Groovy craft projects, crafty recipes and other artsy stuff.

Craft and Travel

Travel the world through art, craft, design & fashion.

Savvy n Sassy

For all your Ribbon needs!

Laundry On Sundaes

Every beginning is only a sequel, after all, and the book of events is always open halfway through.

niftythriftygoodwill

how to look spectacular at astonishing prices

You Look Tired!

One Mother's Journey

Educating Sausages

A little story of two home educated sausages

The Library Detective

I call myself the Library Detective because I can find the answers to any question you can think of, or at least I can point you in the right direction. The Library Detective column first appeared in a local Southern New England newspaper called The Woman's Page.

TOKIDOKI (NOMAD)

a world travel photo blog by Jackie Hadel

Ryan Boren

non-compliant neurodivergent

The Gravel Ghost

A Storyteller's View

